Top 6 Writing Tips

Posted on Updated on

once upon a time image

These are the top 6 writing tips that I’ve learned:

1.  Writer’s Block doesn’t exist.  Sometimes you don’t have inspiration, but you can always force it to happen.

2.  You can find inspiration anywhere.  Learn to be observant of the inspiration around you.

3.  Spending time on your outline is worth it.  A good outline really helps give your finished writing structure.

4. First drafts are always ugly.  You can revise later.

5.  Read.  You can’t be an author/ writer unless you are also a reader.

6.  Read how-to-write books.  My favorite how- to write book for fiction is Structuring your Novel, by K.M Weiland.   My favorite book for writing paragraphs and essays is Jenson’s Format Writing, by Frode Jenson.

What are some of your best tips for writing?

6 thoughts on “Top 6 Writing Tips

    kabrown4 said:
    October 22, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    My best tip is to develop the skill of knowing when to stop writing and move on to the next thing. I’m still developing that particular skill.

    clamorousmind said:
    October 23, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    That is a very good skill to have. It’s easy for me to get discouraged with my writing and want to give up:-(

    Defeating Writer’s Block | Then Matters Now said:
    November 5, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    […] about. Even if some claim that writers block doesn’t exist I truly believe it does. (See Top 6 Writing Tips at floweringkeyboard.wordpress.com and judge for yourself.) And when I get writers block, I tend […]

    […] Top 6 Writing Tips (floweringkeyboard.wordpress.com) […]

      floweringkeyboard responded:
      November 6, 2013 at 6:11 pm

      Thank you for linking to my blog:-) I’m glad it was helpful to you.

    10 Tips for Novel Writing | Become Empowered said:
    November 21, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    […] Top 6 Writing Tips (floweringkeyboard.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

