Don’t Pick Favorites

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been developing my novel writing skills by reading K.M Weiland’s blog, Helping Writers Become Authors, and her how-to write books.   I learned a valuable lesson this week from her advice.

simon
This is my inspiration picture for my protagonist. You can see why I’m a bit in love with him:-)

She believes that authors can’t have a favorite character when they are writing a book, and she tells you why in this blog post.  She says that it really affects your writing and I’ve found that this is true.  A few days ago, I was reading parts of my rough draft of my book and realized that it’s very obvious that my protagonist is my favorite character.  It’s also obvious that I’m not very interested in any of the other characters.  All my moments of brilliance in dialogue or plot came when I was writing about my protagonist.  The scenes without him are very elementary and boring.

I’ve learned that these things help you love all of your characters:

1. Give every character a back story. This really helps you understand why they act a certain way or make the choices they do.

2.  Spend the same amount of time and effort on all of your characters.

3. Decide to be interested in all of their lives. I try to find something interesting or endearing about all of my characters now, even the ones that don’t excite me.

Loving, or at least being interested in all of your character’s lives really does make your writing better and it will also make your story more interesting. I hope to develop this skill as an author.

Do you struggle with having a favorite character in your own novels? 

4 thoughts on “Don’t Pick Favorites

    K.M. Weiland said:
    October 31, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    Great pic! 😉 Thanks for linking to my post. I’m so glad you found it useful!

    floweringkeyboard responded:
    October 31, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    OMG! I can’t believe you commented on my blog! Your blog is invaluable to me as an author. I am also reading your novel, A Man Called Outlaw, right now and I like it so much. It’s so exciting and the characters are so developed. Thank you for all that you do:-)

    Professor VJ Duke said:
    October 31, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    Thanks for the thought provoking thoughts. The professor feels you are a very promising writer. The professor seems to have too many characters in his journals, but that’s simply because there are so many. Not the professor can do about this…. What are you writing now?

      floweringkeyboard responded:
      November 13, 2013 at 2:53 pm

      I’m so glad you like my post. I’m currently working on modernizing A Tale of Two Cities. You can look at my “current projects” page to read more about my current novel:-)

Leave a Reply

