A Snippet of my Novel

Posted on

“Are you hungry?”

“Yes, I haven’t eaten all day, and I’m feeling a little sick from it.” Chas answered.

“Then come with me, I’ll show you a good restaurant where you can eat. I have already eaten.”

Simon led Chas to his black car and they got into it. Chas sat in the passenger seat.  Simon drove to a small, dark looking restaurant.  Chas thought it looked unappealing, but he was very hungry, so he didn’t complain.

They picked a booth in a quiet corner.  Simon sat slouched down, with his elbows on the table.

Soon, a waitress with long auburn hair walked over to their table.  Chas ordered his food and Simon ordered a bottle of wine and asked for a mug.

The waitress returned quickly. “Your wine and mug, sir.” She said, placing Simon’s order in front of him.

“Thank you.” Simon responded.  Then, the waitress walked towards the kitchen.

“I feel kind of confused from hunger.” Chas said apologetically, after she had left.

“That must be nice.” Simon said bitterly.

Chas was very confused.  “What do you mean?”

“It’s a comfort for me to forget my life……that’s why I drink.” He raised his mug carelessly, as he said this.  “You probably think we have nothing in common, you and me.  You may be right.”

Simon had a way of speaking that made Chas feel uncomfortable.

“I don’t think we are at all similar, except for in looks.” Chas responded, cautiously.

“You may be right. So…..what did you think of the pretty witness at the court?  She seemed to know you.”  Simon’s brown eyes lit up strangely as he said this.

“Who?”

“You know who I’m talking about, Miss Monet! Everyone in the court was looking at her….especially you.”  Simon said.  Then, he slammed his mug of wine loudly on the table, causing the wine to slosh.  Chas started.  At first he thought Simon did this out of anger, but seeing that Simon’s face was expressionless, he wondered.

The waitress came back with Chas’ food and he began to eat.

“Miss Monet will make some man very happy when she marries him, one day.”  Simon stated after a moment.

“Yes.” Chas said simply.

“Is her affection worth being tried for your life, Mr. Delacroy?”  Simon asked with a slight smile.

Chas looked uncomfortable and wanted to turn the conversation away from himself.  “Thank you for saving my life.” Chas said seriously.

“I don’t deserve thanks from you.” Simon said, as he refilled his mug with wine.

“What do you mean? You saved my life!”

“It’s my job; I’m a defense lawyer, that’s what I do. It doesn’t mean I care at all about what happens to you.  Now, let me ask you a question, Mr. Delacroy.”

“Ok.”

“Do you think I like you?”

“I never thought of it. I’ve had more pressing problems lately than to think about your feelings toward me.”

Simon laughed slightly. “Think of it now.”

“You act like you do like me, but I don’t think that you really do.”

“You judge well.  I don’t think I like you, either.”  he said nonchalantly.

Chas finished his meal and rose from his seat to say goodbye to Simon.  Simon stood up too, but did not say goodbye.  He had a strange expression on his face.

“Another question: Do you think I’m drunk?”

“I think, Mr. Carter, that you have been drinking.  But that doesn’t necessarily mean that you are drunk.” he replied, carefully.

“You know I am drunk.”  Simon’s lack of politeness was confusing to Chas.   Both men looked at each other in silence.

“I guess you probably are drunk.” Chas finally said.

“Do you know why?”

“No.”

“Because I don’t care about anyone and nobody cares for me either.   I’m very useless to the world.” he said sullenly.

“That’s sad.  You have skills that could be put to better use.”

“Maybe so.  But don’t be too proud of having your life together, Mr. Delacroy, it could change any day.”

Chas left this strange man, feeling disconcerted.

Leave a Reply

